I’ll admit that I’m probably kookier than these four.

3 Oct

Last night, studying for my first psychology midterm was a nightmare. I was in desperate need of something to keep me awake, but nothing was to be found. The vending machine in my building was being difficult, I was far too lazy to walk somewhere to acquire caffeine, and I’d stupidly forgotten to bring a french press to my new home. Sadly, the lonely Rockstar Vodka in my fridge was my only option. At least it made things interesting. On a happier note, I have two days off ahead of me, so I think some laid back tuneage is in order after my ridiculous ordeal.

The Kooks have been around for over seven years now, yet they always continue to surprise me. Konk was one of my favourite albums of all time, and now they’ve got a new record for my curious ears. This is not the reason behind my post today though since I haven’t had a chance to listen to it yet. The Kooks have a knack for making wicked covers, and here’s a recent BBC Radio 1 recording of them covering this summer’s biggest and most unexpected hit.

For the record, I don’t recommend studying after a neon colored alcoholic beverage,

Grant.

The Kooks – Pumped Up Kicks (Foster The People Cover) [Mediafire]

Another gem.

The Kooks – Kids (MGMT Cover) [Mediafire]

Ok fine here a few new tracks from Junk Of The Heart.

The Kooks – Is It Me [Mediafire]

The Kooks – Junk Of The Heart (Happy) [Mediafire]

Leave a comment